How to activate and use your chat room admin monitor

This security feature helps you make decisions about who you let admin your room in your absence, and what an admin does on your behalf in the room. Track abusive bouncing and banning and never again wonder who closed your room, who got bounced or banned and why, who red dotted everyone, who tried to bounce YOU, etc.. Be sure your admins run YOUR room YOUR way!

How to turn it on and off:

To edit your room from the 'classic' messenger version of Paltalk, select 'MyPaltalk' from the 'file' menu on your main Paltalk Pal List window.  Now click on the 'edit room' link in the 'my room' panel.

To edit your room from Paltalk for Mac and Windows PCs, click on the 'home' selection near the bottom left of the main window, then scroll down to the 'my room' panel on the right.  Hover your mouse over the top right corner of the panel and and click on the 'edit' icon when it appears.

To edit your room from the paltalk.com web site, log in at the top right of www.paltalk.com then click on the 'edit room' link in the 'my room' panel.

Your chat room setup pages will be presented.

Step 1
click on the 'admins' tab on the left side of the browser screen

Step 2
click the 'edit' button near the top right of the page.

Step 3
place a check mark in the 'enable admin monitor' box

Step 4
press the 'save my changes' button at the bottom of the form

Finished
When you turn your admin monitor on, it will stay on until you turn it off! Even if you are offline, the admin monitor will log everything that happens in your chat room and send it to you the next time you log in.

CAUTION: If you leave your admin monitor on, and are offline for several days the log can become very large and take a long time to load when you log in! Be sure to turn it off if you plan to be offline for more than a day or two.

Whenever an action is taken by anyone joining your room as 'admin' a message will be sent to you in a 'Paltalk Notifier' window. You can leave this window open for as long as you like and minimize it to let the log grow to review at your convenience.

This log is NOT stored by Paltalk! If you close the window anything listed is gone forever, so be sure you save it or review it before you close it.

Here is a sample of the messages that you may see in the notifier window...
 
Admin monitor messages

admin name opened your group as admin
admin name closed your group
admin name joined your group as admin
admin name left your group with no other admin present
admin name red dotted the entire group (remove all mics)
admin name un-dotted the entire group (give mics to everyone)
admin name enabled red dot video
admin name disabled red dot video
admin name enabled red dot text
admin name disabled red dot text
admin name attempted to bounce you from your group
admin name bounced user name
admin name un-bounced user name
admin name invited user name back after they were bounced
admin name attempted to ban you from your group
admin name banned user name
admin name un-banned user name

Did this answer your question?